Perfectly CHOCOLATE Protein Smoothie

Good Saturday morning! My kiddos woke me up just at the crack of 6 this morning. With both of them being so young, it’ll make for quite a long day! But, no worries. They keep me active and happy.

To wake up and get going this morning, I decided to make my incredibly delicious protein smoothie. Nothing starts off the day better than a healthy, filling smoothie, in my opinion. And this one takes the cake quite literally – it tastes just like chocolate cake! Now I know I’ve got your attention! Cake for breakfast? Well, yes! You can have your cake and drink it, too!

First things first: gotta gather your ingredients. My hubby always makes fun if me when I start whipping the things out I need to make this smoothie. “So many things!” he always claims. I disagree, but you can be the judge of that.

20130608-074051.jpg
Here’s what you’ll need:

1/2 cup fat-free cottage cheese
1 scoop vanilla protein powder
1 tbsp ground flax seed
2 tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder
1 packet Truvia
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
1 cup unsweetened almond milk
8 ice cubes

Let’s get started!

First, measure out your cottage cheese and add it to your blender.

20130608-074557.jpg
I know what you’re thinking. Cottage cheese in a smoothie? Hey, don’t knock it ’til you’ve tried it! It actually doesn’t add any real flavor but instead thickens a smoothie up like no one’s business and adds a whole lot of protein. Can’t stomach cottage cheese? Okay, okay, you can replace it with a 1/2 cup of yogurt (go Greek!) but your end result won’t be as thick. Just sayin’.

Next, add a scoop of protein powder.

20130608-074937.jpg
I love Muscle Tech Whey Protein. Very delicious and has 20 grams of protein per serving. But you can use whatever you’ve got. I’ve used other powders, even Shakeology, and you still get a quality smoothie. (PS, if you do use chocolate Shakeology, don’t add the cocoa powder later, for obvious reasons…) Moving right along.

Add 1 tbsp ground flax seed.

20130608-075410.jpg
This is really optional. You don’t taste it at all but I like the added texture it gives. And of course all the benefits of flax seed!

Now measure out 2 tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder.

20130608-075557.jpg
Why unsweetened? Well, we’re trying to make this smoothie as clean as possible. Could you use sweetened? Sure. I never have. But I bet it would be marvelous.

Now, add in a packet of Truvia, or any other sweetener you like.

20130608-075751.jpg

Measure 1/2 tsp vanilla extract. You guessed it, throw it in the blender. That’s the best place for it.

20130608-075850.jpg

Add 1 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk.

20130608-080007.jpg
Any brand is ok. Though I’m using Silk here, I actually prefer Almond Breeze. It all depends on you and your preferences. You could also substitute any other milk you have here if you’d like.

Finally, throw 8 ice cubes into that blender of yours!

20130608-080217.jpg
This is important: you need 8. Not 9, not 7, 8. Are you hearing me? 8! I don’t know why, but 8 is the magic number here. Trust me. Just use 8.

Now that you’ve got everything thrown in your blender (see, that wasn’t too many ingredients, was it? Or maybe it was. Just do me a favor and don’t tell my husband he’s right. It’ll go to his head and we don’t need that) it’s time to do some blending.

20130608-080542.jpg
I blend on low until most of the ice is chopped up, then switch it to high and let it do it’s thing. With my specific blender, I know I’m getting close to finished when I can hear it slowing down. The smoothie just gets so dang thick that I’m guessing its harder to blend. Trust me, you’ll know when you’re there.

20130608-080756.jpg
Oh yeah, looking good, baby.

Pour into a large glass and enjoy!

20130608-080848.jpg
This recipe fills up my 28 oz Blender bottle.

Perfectly CHOCOLATE Protein Smoothie
1/2 cup fat-free cottage cheese
1 scoop vanilla protein powder
1 tbsp ground flax seed
2 tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder
1 packet Truvia
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
1 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk
8 ice cubes
Add ingredients to blender and blend until smooth!

Nutrition Information:
295 calories
7.5 g fat
27 g carbs
36 g protein

I hope you enjoy!

20130608-081452.jpg

Leave a Reply

