My New Year’s Resolution ’13

I don’t often make resolutions. When I do, it’s something totally achievable. For example, last year I vowed to run 365 miles. I would have accomplished that feat had I not become pregnant, but that’s another story. This year’s resolution is a little different. It’s not something that I want to do every day, just most of them. And in putting this resolution into practice, I will achieve many great things, things you just can write down as a resolution.

As I’ve mentioned before, I actually began my resolution about 2 weeks ago. The reason? It was time. It was time to get started and there was no time like the present. Why put off what you can do now for some date in the future? And let me tell you something: it worked! It’s the reason I’ve lost 6 1/2 pounds in two weeks, the reason I have a ton more energy, and the reason that I’ll get the best body of my life in 2013.

First things first. Let me tell you that I love exercise. Working out has never been an issue for me. I work out every day and smile the entire time. In the past, that’s the reason I’ve lost weight. I monitored my calories (somewhat) and exercised like a crazy person. Hey, it works if all you want to do is drop a few pounds.

This time around, however, I’m not only interested in losing weight but changing my body and shaping it to look how I want it to. And from all the research I’ve done recently, it all boils down to nutrition. All calories are not created equal. In order to shape the body of my dreams, I have to fuel it properly.

This idea is something new to me. I usually count calories but never paid much attention to where those calories were coming from. Which meant, if I wanted to eat fast food, I’d try to squeeze those empty calories in. And that usually meant starving myself just to eat something like that. It’s really not an effective way to live, and I know it was holding me back from having the best body I could have.

All my research finally led me to bodybuilding.com and a program I intend to pursue once I finish my current Turbofire circuit (9 more weeks).

It’s called Live Fit Trainer by Jamie Eason and its designed to get you lean and in great shape. I’ve never been one to lift weights, but for the body I want, I’m all for it.

This program has it all: daily workouts, tips, nutrition. And it’s free!

Since I’m almost 3 months in to the 5-month Turbofire program, I’m going to keep doing that until I finish (because its my favorite workout program of all time and I couldn’t see myself stopping when I’m so close to being done with 5 months of it) and then I will begin this Live Fit Trainer program, somewhere in mid-March. But, I feel like the nutrition part of the program can be used no matter what workout you choose to do. And that’s where my resolution comes in.

Here’s the deal: this is a list of all the foods I’ll ever need. Seriously. And here (scroll down) is the meal plan I need to follow to eat properly. Simple.

Like I said, I started this new, healthy style of eating about 2 weeks ago. I can’t believe how great it is! I’m literally eating all the time and I’m never unnecessarily hungry. I’m getting the right nutrition, I don’t really have to worry about counting calories (although I still do out of curiosity), and my body is receiving it all really well. I don’t know if this statement is accurate or not, but it seems like, now that my body is getting the proper nutrition, it doesn’t crave sugar or fast food anymore. I never thought that would be possible for me, I’m such a chocoholic.

My resolution, then, is to continue and perfect this new style of eating. After two weeks of it (not perfect, but who is?), I’m definitely in love and very excited to see where this new nutrition will take me. Paired with the intense workouts I already do, I think I’ve got a serious recipe for success!

So, 2013 will be my year. I can’t wait for the results yet to come!

Leave a Reply

