Yummy Casserole

If you didn’t already know, I’m a mother of a two and a half year old and an almost three month old. When it comes to cooking dinner, I look for things that are easy, use minimal ingredients, and that are healthy and filling. I think I’ve scored with this delicious casserole recipe! My two year old and hubby both agree it’s a winner!

It’s called No-Peek Chicken and the original recipe can be found here. I did a few things differently for my recipe, but I’ve made it both ways and they’re both super yummy.

20121126-121043.jpg

Ingredients:
– 1 cup rice (white or brown)
– 2 cans cream of mushroom soup
– 1 can water
– 1 lb chicken breast, cubed

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Spray a 13×9 casserole dish with cooking spray.
2. Combine rice, 2 cans soup and 1 can water in casserole dish, stirring until mixed thoroughly. Place chicken on top.
3. Cover dish with foil and bake at 350 degrees for 2 1/2 hours. Don’t peek!

Makes 4 servings, 365 calories

If you use the original recipe and make this with the long grain and wild rice, be prepared for some crunchy pieces every bite. I use regular rice so it will be soft, but both ways are still tasty. Also, you don’t have to cube the chicken, you can leave it as breasts or tenderloins, I just like to be able to scoop this out and serve it without cutting up anything for my daughter. You can also use different soups for this (the original recipe calls for cream of mushroom and cream of celery) and I imagine cream of chicken and cream of broccoli or broccoli cheese soup would be amazing, too! Next time I make this dish (which will be some time this week!) I’m going to use cream of chicken soup, white rice, and add some frozen broccoli for a nice, hearty meal.

Be prepared for the deliciousness, this is one of those recipes that is even better as leftovers!

4 thoughts on “Yummy Casserole

  1. It looks great – but as a vegetarian, I can’t try it 😦 I guess I could try to swap the chicken for my fake chicken (as I like to call it) but I’m not sure whether that would be the same…

    • Hmmm, perhaps you could switch out the chicken with veggies like broccoli and mushrooms?
      What kind of “fake” chicken do you use? If its similar to real chicken I’m sure it would turn out the same! You might have to cut the baking time, though, I’m not sure.
      I was a vegetarian for about 6 years, too. I know how you feel, there’s so many good recipes out there that aren’t vegetarian-friendly, it’s unfair! Now I eat mostly only poultry, with the exception of beef on occasion.
      If I find a good vegetarian substitution for this recipe, I will let you know!

      • That would be great, thank you! I don’t think I could ever go back to eating meat, it absolutely disgusts me… But there are just not many good recipes. I think once I have more time, I’ll start thinking of my own 😉 And my fake chicken I mean Quorn (I know they have this in Holland and in the UK, so I presume they have it everywhere). It looks like chicken, but it’s not 🙂 What made you go back to eating meat if I may ask?

      • I started eating poultry again because my body was really weak. My mom was always worried that I wasn’t getting enough protein and I think she was right. I wasn’t strong and I never really had much energy. She suggested I start trying chicken and it helped out a lot. Then, I met my husband and as a joke, he dared me to eat a hamburger, so I did. It was…okay. I like chicken a lot better, but I will eat ground beef or steak from time to time (like today I’ve actually got a meat loaf in the crock pot, but I probably won’t eat beef again for a couple weeks).
        Basically I think my body just needs the protein from poultry to look its best. I know I could use protein powders and other things to get protein, but I like chicken so I figure it’s best to just eat it.

Leave a Reply

