Breakfast

My favorite meal of the day is breakfast. I could eat breakfast food for every meal of the day! Anyone else?

Sometimes I get stuck in a breakfast rut. Lately, it’s been eggs and bacon every day. Pretty boring, huh? Sometimes I’ll mix it up by having oatmeal, waffles (no butter or syrup of course!) or a green smoothie, but I’ve been in the need for something quick and easy to spice things up a little.

The other day I was browsing around Pinterest and saw a cute breakfast idea I knew I had to try: muffin pan omelettes! You can make these in so many different ways that the possibilities are endless, plus you can either make an entire batch or just a couple at a time.

What You’ll Need:
-muffin pan
-cooking spray
-eggs (number depends on how many you want to make)
-ingredients of your choice (ham, bacon, sausage, peppers, onions, spinach, cheese, etc.)
-salsa for topping

20121124-072309.jpg

Make ’em:
1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Spray muffin pan with cooking spray.
2. Crack the eggs and place one per muffin cup (I cracked them directly into the pan). Use a fork to scramble the egg, then add ingredients of your choice. If you’re adding meat, make sure it’s cooked prior to adding.
3. Bake 25-30 minutes until egg looks done.
4. Top with salsa for an extra kick!

20121124-072355.jpg

I made vegetarian omelettes using just egg and bell pepper and topped it with salsa. I imagine you could do this using just egg whites if you wanted.

Have fun and get creative!

Leave a Reply

